Skip to content

Sometime you just need to call the “fix it” guy

July 31, 2011

Our friend is off the disabled list. Hooray!!!

For the last three months, one of our garage door openers has not been working.  It doesn’t sound like a big deal until you have to get out of the car in the pouring rain (had a few of those this spring) or late at night.  So, you’re probably wondering why didn’t I fix it?  Good question.  I didn’t fix it, because I am not a “fix it” guy.  In fact, Donohues (and Egans)  are famously bad at fixing things.  I have lots of good qualities, but fixing things doesn’t appear to be one of them.  We simply worked around the problem and dealt with the inconvenience.  Finally, this week with some prodding from my wife Binita, I said I would take care of the garage door opener problem.  My first move was to call my buddy Ian, who knows how to fix everything.  He advised me to find the manual online and then call him to come over.  I found the manual and then proceeded to try a couple troubleshooting tips they suggested before calling Ian back.  Shazam!!!  The opener was now operational.  I was pumped, but I also felt a little silly.  Read the manual.  Duh!!  Kinda like,  I wish someone had told me earlier that the key to losing weight is to exercise more and eat less!!!

Why didn’t I do this earlier?  I know why, because I thought it was going to be a big hairy deal and once again prove that I did not know how to fix things.  So, I just put up with the pain.  What changed?  I was guided and encouraged by Ian to take a step forward in an area that I felt negative about.  Just a little guidance and encouragement got me to suspend my limiting belief (I can’t fix things) and try something.

Isn’t that a little bit like what great fathers do.  They guide and encourage their children to break through their limiting beliefs and self doubt to accomplish the previously unattainable.  Your child says, “I am not good at math”, “I will never be a good athlete”,  or “I will never have good friends”.  Dad, that is your cue to dive in with a fistful of encouragement and guidance.  Not only tell them they can do it, but show them or lead them to resources where they can flourish.  Your presence is the often the difference between something happening and not happening.

As fathers, we can be the “fix it” guy who guides and encourages  our children.

Patrick Donohue is a Life Coach in Oak Park, IL victorylifecoaching@gmail.com

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2011 6:03 pm

    “Your presence is the often the difference between something happening and not happening.” I know my kids won’t do their chores or homework unless I’m standing over them!

Leave a Reply

