Skip to content

Father’s Weekend @ Illinois

November 10, 2011

This weekend is Father’s weekend at University of Illinois, so my son Shaan (16) and I are going to visit my freshmen daughter Sarina.  Both Sarina and I are excited for a fun weekend. Dads, here are 5 thoughts I have to make the weekend great.

1.Bring Food  – My wife Binita is cooking up some of Sarina’s favorite Indian food and I might make a small “chocolate run” before we get to her dorm.  Of course, I am making the run for Sarina!!!

2.Be Curious – Ask questions rather than making judgements about her new life.  Be interested in her new friends and activities, without being over the top nosy.

3.Dorm Room – Do not spend too much time in her dorm room. It is tight and cramped.  Shaan and I will be staying at my cousin’s house.

4.Football – We will be watching the game with another dad and his daughter at a sports bar, rather than attending it.  We save around $200 and probably will have more fun and definitely stay more warm.  Good advice from Binita!!!

5.Ask Permission – I asked Sarina if it was OK if her brother came down.  I did not want to ruin the vibe of our special weekend.  She was actually excited that Shaan was coming, which was nice.

So, here’s to a great Dad’s weekend in Champaign!!!

Patrick Donohue is a Life Coach in Oak Park, IL.  Contact him at victorylifecoaching@gmail.com

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2011 10:17 am

    Pat- Have a great time at Illinois this weekend with your kids!! My son is down there but we won’t be down this weekend. I can’t wait until he comes home for Thanksgiving!!

  2. roger chancellor permalink
    November 10, 2011 10:48 am

    Pat,
    Kelley and I are going to a bar too. Do you know which one yet. Perhaps we can meet up.

Leave a Reply

