Skip to content

Involvement or Commitment?

January 2, 2012

Are you involved or committed?

You don’t need a new plan for next year. You need a commitment.  -Seth Godin

On December 30th, we were talking about our goals for 2012.  I said  I wanted to lose 20 lbs this year.  My sixteen year old son Shaan chimed in, “Isn’t that he same goal you have had for the last three years?”  Ah  teenagers, isn’t great to have them around for reality testing?  The truth is that I have set that as a goal the previous three years and failed to accomplish it.  Why?  Because I enjoy the feel of tight pants?  Not really.  Because I do not know what to do?  Wrong again.  Because I was not really committed to making it happen?  Bingo.

Like many of us, I can get fired up at the start of a new year and then watch that enthusiasm dissipate until about April when I have given up.  What happens to me?  I start off well and then hit a couple bumps in the road and pretty soon I have backed off and then eventually give up.  My problem is I have been involved in the process of losing weight rather than committed to doing it.  So, what can make a difference and reverse this pattern for me and for many of you regarding goals that are important to you?

The short answer is to stay MOTIVATED.  I know you are thinking, hey Pat, that is deep stuff!!!  Actually it is when you break motivation down a little bit.  Here is a formula we will look at over the next few blogs that will keep you and me fully fueled and motivated for 2012:

Motivation = (Expectancy)(Value)/(Impulsiveness)(Delay)

Stay tuned for the next post as we break down the importance of expectancy.

Patrick Donohue is a Life Coach in Oak Park, IL.  Contact him at victorylifecoaching@gmail.com

2 Comments leave one →
  1. coach mike permalink
    January 2, 2012 7:50 pm

    Time to get on the points.

Leave a Reply

