Skip to content

Call the @#$%& ing Doctor!!!

January 28, 2012

The arm is stable, but check out that pinky!!!

Last Monday night, I had my iPhone tuned to my favorite podcast (ESPN Thundering Herd with Colin Cowherd) and I sprinted out our front door and headed across the street to Barrie Park where I run.  As I reached the Barrie Park sidewalk, I hit a sheet of ice and came crashing down on my elbow.  I immediately thought I broke something and walked painfully back to my house.  After a couple of hours of icing my elbow and guzzling ibuprofens,  I felt better.  Probably just a bad bruise, no need to go to the emergency room.  I went to bed early and woke up at 2:00 am with a lot of pain.  An hour of icing and some tylenol certainly helped.  When I got up at 5:30 am, my arm was quite stiff and painful, but it felt better after I showered.  I headed to work with some tylenol and thought about all the meetings I had on that day.  I had decided in my mind that the injury would heal on its own, it just needed some time.

When I got to work, the ladies in the office were all over me to call the doctor.  I protested that it was likely a bad bone bruise and what was the doctor going to really do about that?  They insisted and pointed at my pinky finger on my left hand.  A little history lesson.  Three years ago, I hurt my pink finger badly playing basketball and did not see the doctor for six weeks.  After a “successful” surgery, my surgeon declared that my finger was the worst one he had ever operated on (so I got that going for me, which is nice)!!!  He chastised me about not calling him sooner and I meekly apologized.

Now apparently those lessons from my finger were a little bit fuzzy as I contemplated whether to call the doctor on Tuesday.  Finally, I relented and called and saw my doctor.  She did not think my elbow was broken, but said we should do an x-ray just in case.  Three hours later, she called me and told me I had a fractured radius bone and that I needed to see the orthopedic guy on Thursday.  The orthopedic doctor said I was borderline for surgery, but thought I wouldn’t need it, but to come back in a week for more x-rays.

So, what is my point?  My point is that  I am not a doctor and do not even play one on TV.  I am like most men,  I am not big on seeing the doctor (although I do go for check up every year).  Men, let’s not be idiots!!!  If you are in a lot of pain, call the doctor.  If you have a condition that requires medical attention (high blood pressure, high cholesterol, diabetes) schedule and ACTUALLY GO to your regular check ups.  We want to be great fathers and husbands, it starts with being healthy.  I know, I know, but it is a nice macho feeling to be the “tough guy” and not call the doctor.  As an old football coach of mine said, “The tough guy is the dumb guy.”  Amen.

Patrick Donohue is a Life Coach in Oak Park, IL. Contact him at victorylifecoahcing@gmail.com.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 30, 2012 1:46 pm

    One of my favorites so far!! Love your blog, Patrick!

Leave a Reply

