Skip to content

Creating Memories

May 27, 2012

Happy Memorial Day!!!  As we remember the men and women who have faithfully served our country, let’s also think about memories with our kids.  I am convinced that creating positive memories and then talking about them, celebrating them and laughing about them is one of the most powerful things we can do with our kids.  In fact, the memories and the stories associated with them are often more fun than the actual event.

Last year, my daughter Sarina was paid to clean a doctors office once a week.  She would typically doe this job on Sunday nights.  During the winter when it was dark, I got into the habit of joining here during her cleaning time and even helping out a little myself.  We had great conversations about life as we drove the 15-20 minutes to and from the office the doctors office.  In late June, I was at an weekend coaching training and was totally beat when I came home on Sunday night.  I had already told Sarina that she was on her own that week for cleaning.  My wife Binita and I went out for a quiet dinner to chill from a hectic weekend. Midway through the dinner, I received a text from Sarina asking if there was any chance I could join her for cleaning. I immediately wrote back that I was tired and that she needed to go on her own.  However, something inside of me said that going tonight could be very meaningful, so  I texted her back and said I could go but not until 9:45 pm at night, which was much later than we normally went.

We ended up having a great time on our late night cleaning mission.  We laughed, danced and even sang some songs together that night.  That was almost a year ago and since that time we have referenced our “late night cleaning adventure” many times.  The bond between us got a little bit deeper that night and built a foundation for future adventures.

Sometimes, it just takes a little bit of effort to make a memory that last a lifetime.

Patrick Donohue is a Life Coach in Oak Park, IL.  Contact him at victorylifecoaching@gmail.com

5 Comments leave one →
  1. PushDumpFatButton permalink
    May 27, 2012 10:47 pm

    Reblogged this on Push Dump Fat Button.

    • May 27, 2012 10:56 pm

      Thanks for the reblog. I enjoyed reading about your journey. -Pat

      • PushDumpFatButton permalink
        May 27, 2012 10:56 pm

        You are very welcome Patrick and thanks for reading some of my material!

  2. Phaeth Place permalink
    May 29, 2012 8:28 am

    Awww, Pap! I love this one. Life is all about the memories we create.

Leave a Reply

